A Little Less Of Me

My quest to become thinner and healthier

My Goals 2 January 2009

Filed under: How Its Done - Past and Present — lennonzgal @ 02:03

I’ve been thinking about my goals lately.  It’s become obvious that “to lose weight” isn’t a good enough goal for me, nor is “to become healthier.”  The last time I lost a significant amount of weight was in preparation for my wedding, so it seems to me that I need a really good motivator.  I’ve thought about it, and I tihnk my motivation this time is my son.  At my weight (which I’ll post tomorrow once I get on the scale), I’m certainly more at risk for all sorts of problems, which will only be exacerbated as I get older.  I want to be around to enjoy my son and to be able to play with him for as long as he likes.  So, my motivation is Liam.

I once got as low as 145 pounds, which may seem high to a lot of you, but it was actually too small for me – I was always hungry, and the only way for me to stay that small was to constantly obsess over what I ate.  With an infant, I don’t have time for that.  I think that I have a better chance at being around 155 (my doctor once mentioned that this would likely be a good healthy weight for me).  There’s no problem being 155, if it’s a healthy 155 …I don’t take much stock in the height/weight charts … I’m going to get to 155, then start focusing on my percent body fat, but that’s another goal for another day.

So, my goals are:

  • Get down to 155 pounds (or thereabouts … I’ll refine this as I lose weight)
  • Get healthier – more exercise, more water, more positivity in my life

I think that’s feasible, don’t you?

 

3 Responses to “My Goals”

  1. Dawn Says:

    You can ABSOLUTELY achieve your goals! My hubby and I have similar goals. We both want to get as healthy as possible before we start a family. I don’t want to pass along my bad eating habits to my future children. Brian is trying to lose 40 lbs and I am working on getting healthier – getting in all those fruits and veggies, exercising regularly, and drinking all my water! We’ve made it a family project so that we each have support. Those days when I don’t feel like going to the gym, he gets me there and vice versa! We go to sparkpeople.com for exercise ideas and food trackers, etc.

    Best of luck! I know you can do it, Jax! You’re a determined person and can achieve whatever you set your mind to!

    P.S. Always remember that you are ALREADY beautiful…on the inside AND the outside!

  2. lennonzgal Says:

    Thanks so much, that means a lot 🙂 Will is on the bandwagon with me, so hopefully our little family will be able to instill good habits on the wee man!

  3. joymanning Says:

    I’ve been thinking a lot about this as well and after watching a marathon of those The Half-Ton [blank] shows on TLC last night, I’m wondering if a better goal for most people is just to stop gaining weight! I think the end result of getting too thin for yourself is certain re-gain. Your goals sound realistic but of course only you know what is the right weight for you. A healthy weight is one you can stay at for life. Good luck! You know I’ll be tuning in. I added A Little Less of my to my blogroll, of course. Happy new year!


Leave a Reply

