A Little Less Of Me

My quest to become thinner and healthier

Milk 7 January 2009

Filed under: Fun With Food — lennonzgal @ 01:15

Hormones and processing chemicals aside, I have recently found that I have trouble drinking cow’s milk.  In part, I think it’s because the big corporate milk places hook their cattle up to machines that do the milking.  Being a new mom, I pump every night so that my husband can give Liam a bottle of my milk.  That’s not comfortable!  It’s WAY more comfortable to have Liam drinking it on his own.  Matter of fact, if I were to pump all of Liam’s meals rather than feed him directly, I’d be more at risk for being engorged because the pump doesn’t have as strong a sucking power as a baby.  On top of that, I can’t imagine having to lactate for the rest of my life.  Liam turns 1 year in April, and I’m truly looking forward to when he’ll be done nursing.  I feel sorry for the cows, knowing that they are hormone-induced to continue lactating for as long as the dairy needs.

I also know that in a mother’s milk, there are flavors from whatever she’s eaten in the previous 48 hours … I really don’t want grass (or worse!) in my milk.  I realize that there’s a ton of processing that cow’s milk goes through before it’s ready for the market, but I still feel like you can’t possibly remove everything.

So, I’ve switched to soy milk and almond milk.  I’ve tried both, and I think that the almond milk is far superior to the soy milk, I actually think I enjoy it more than I’ve ever enjoyed regular milk.  So, I’ve made the switch, and cost be damned, I’m sticking with it!

 

Leave a Reply

