A Little Less Of Me

My quest to become thinner and healthier

Favorite Food: The Baker’s Original Pecan Granola 8 March 2009

Filed under: Fun With Food — lennonzgal @ 12:26

I may not be Hungry Girl, but a couple of you have emailed me or left a comment to say that you’re dieting too and that you’re following my blog as motivation.  It’s amazing what you can do when you’ve got a diet buddy.  But one benefit of having a diet buddy is the fact that you’ll be able to share food secrets, so I thought I’d do that here.  On occasion, I’m going to write about a new favorite of mine, today I’m going to write about the wonders of The Baker’s Original Pecan Granola.

I started loving granola in college.  It was probably the cheapest, most processed granola on the market, but it was SO good on my frozen yogurt, which we got every night.  Since then, I’ve grown to really enjoy the stuff, but I had always thought that it was a bit high in calories to eat on my already-high ice cream.  Then I realized, my yogurt needs just a little something.  Enter granola!  About a half-serving (1/8 cup or 15g depending on the brand) does the trick.  I started with Galaxy Granola’s Not Sweet Vanilla Almond, which is decent, but then I found The Baker.  I grabbed a container of Original Pecan and I was IN HEAVEN.  The stuff is so sweet and brown sugary, it’s really hard to stop at 15g.  I’m getting better at it, but oh my … I love the fact that just by looking at a handful, I can identify the ingredients – walnuts, pecans, brown sugar, sunflower seeds, etc.  Makes me feel so much more comfortable about eating it.

It’s not something I can keep in my house all the time, I do find myself munching on it right out of the bag on occasion, which I never do with my Galaxy Granola (they really mean it when they say “not sweet”), but it’s a great treat to purchase every once in a while!  I’d love to know what everyone else’s favorite granola is … or perhaps someone out there has a homemade recipe?

 

3 Responses to “Favorite Food: The Baker’s Original Pecan Granola”

  1. lisa d Says:

    of course joy can hook you up with the home-made granola,it’s the bomb and we made it at xmas,not difficult.probably alot cheaper than the store and nice and sweet too.what is it about crunchy foods……

  2. lennonzgal Says:

    I don’t know what it is about crunchy foods. All I know is that I can’t eat foods that I don’t chew. I’m never satisfied by yogurt unless there’s granola (or a mashed-up oreo) in it. Same thing with a protein shake – gotta have a banana with it to make me feel like I had something substantial. It’s why I was never able to do those Slim-Fast things.

  3. Joy Manning Says:

    Dramatically cheaper and exponentially more delicious than anything I’ve ever had from a store:

    http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/alton-brown/granola-recipe/index.html


Leave a Reply

