A Little Less Of Me

My quest to become thinner and healthier

Size DOES Matter 13 May 2009

Filed under: Musings — lennonzgal @ 19:49

When I first started Weight Watchers back in 2001, I remember laughing at one of the things the leader said: “Eat all of your meals off of a luncheon plate.  It’ll trick you into thinking you’re eating more.”  Yeah, right, I thought.  Plus, I was living at home and had no chance of requesting special china at dinnertime.  I continued to eat off of normal plates.

In the fall of 2002, I got married and my husband expressed a desire to start losing weight.  I decided to try the trick on him – he always goes back for seconds, so I thought it would be a good way to maybe help him control his portions.  We started eating off of luncheon plates, and lo and behold, my leader had been right … I am much more satisfied when I feel like I’ve eaten a full plate’s worth of food.  

I know that sounds really dumb, but it just goes to show, a lot of weight loss is in our heads.  My mom and I were just talking the other day about the fact that she feels as though I eat “almost nothing” – I was trying to explain to her that a serving size of meat is about 3 ounces and NOT the 6-8 ounce breast of chicken she often tries to force-feed me.  She grew up “knowing” that a serving of meat was a breast of chicken, or a t-bone steak, or a big old slice from the roast.  Being a meat lover, she accepted this as gospel and has trouble thinking otherwise.  Me being not so much a meat lover, I’m happy eating 2 ounces and getting my protein from nuts and yogurt.

Mom also has trouble with her weight.  She ALSO has trouble eating off of luncheon plates – “they aren’t dinner plates,” she’ll tell me.  Nope, but they’ve helped me all the same … I’d bet they’d help her if she’d just let go of the mindset that they’re just for lunch and cake.  Funny how that works, isn’t it?

EDIT [05/19/09]: Someone asked if I’d post a picture of the difference between the plates … no problem!  In general, a dinner plate is about 11-12″, while a luncheon plate is about 9″.  If you were to buy a full place setting, the luncheon plate would be the smaller one.   The following photo is from www.pier1.com, one of my favorite places!!

The larger plate is the "dinner" plate, while the smaller is for "lunch"
The larger plate is the “dinner” plate, while the smaller is for “lunch”
 

3 Responses to “Size DOES Matter”

  1. lisa d Says:

    i totally understand the lucheon plate logic.i totally understand the karen logic. what i can not totally understand is, why i can’t put the logical part of everything i know to proper use. at what age do you get it all figured out?time is running out for me…….. good luck in indy with the in-laws, hardly any stress eating going on there!!!!!! have safe travel with liam.

  2. Torrin Says:

    Can you post a picture of a lunch plate vs. a dinner plate? I’m having trouble picturing the difference in my head.

  3. lennonzgal Says:

    Certainly, but as a start, I’ll say this … a dinner plate is generally around 11″-12″, while a luncheon plate is around 9″ (they’re the smaller plates that come with a full place setting).


Leave a Reply

