A Little Less Of Me

My quest to become thinner and healthier

7/16 Workout: HHA … sort of 17 July 2009

Filed under: Feel the Burn — lennonzgal @ 10:29

So, it’s exceedingly difficult to workout when your son is screaming his head off in his crib.  Last night, I put Liam to bed at 7:30pm (his normal time), and then headed to the family room for some video workout time.  I had to run back upstairs to find the DVD (it got frequent flyer miles heading to St. John, but never made it out of the CD case) and in doing so, woke Liam up.  He proceeded to scream and scream.  I started my workout anyway, thinking he’d probably go back to sleep in a minute or two, but I was wrong.  About 10 minutes into the workout, I ended up having to stop because he had himself so upset, I had to go and sing him back to sleep.  The minute I put him back in his crib, he started to scream again.  I went back downstairs to give him his 20 minutes to calm down, and I continued to try my DVD.

There were a few things going on here … first, since Liam was awake, I couldn’t do things that would make him realize that I was downstairs.  So, doing the higher intensity portions of the DVD (jumping rather than bouncing, for instance) was out of the question.  In addition, hearing your child that upset triggers all sorts of emotional and chemical reactions in your body, which were detrimental to working out.  So, after maybe another 5 minutes of the DVD, I quit.  Liam screamed for another 10 minutes, and by that point I was done even thinking about trying. 

Maybe next time.

 

Leave a Reply

