A Little Less Of Me

My quest to become thinner and healthier

8/5 Workout: Speed Work 5 August 2009

Filed under: Feel the Burn — lennonzgal @ 23:54

I think there are several factors here that are standing in between me and my half-marathon next year:

  1. Exhaustion.  Don’t get me wrong; I love that little boy more than anything I’ve ever loved before.  That said, 12 solid hours with him will nearly kill anyone.  He’s a constant ball of energy, and I’m not so much.  So, after a day with him, running in the evening is a challenge best left for an olympiad.
  2. Humidity.  There’s something to be said about feeling wet before you even start to sweat.  On a humid day like today, I can’t get myself up to speed.  Will claims that its a natural protection mode to prevent me from overheating and dying.  I’m going to go with that.
  3. Mindset.  No matter how much I want to run during the day, by the time I get out there, I nearly always psych myself out within the first mile.  Don’t know why, but it’s definitely something I need to get around.
  4. Batteries.  So, I thought to myself, “sure … get the GPS watch with HRM.  You’ll love it.”  Then, I realize that I need to charge the battery more often.  So, my battery died mid-run today, and with it so went my motivation.
  5. Liam.  Again.  Come on … how can I PASS the house when I look up and see that little angel yelling “Mommy!” through his window??  That’s a sure-fire way to get me to turn toward the house.  I love my #1 fan 🙂

So, my run didn’t go as well as I’d hoped today.  Know what though?  I still went out and ran, and that’s what counts.  No more beating myself up for a “bad” run … I’m going to have them.  A lot.  I’m a mom, and I have other priorities right now.  There just aren’t enough hours in the day when you’re a parent, especially one who has a job in addition to being said parent.  Having two full-time jobs is rough, no matter who you are.

If I can just press through the summer, finish that 4 mile race at the end of this month (walking and wheezing if necessary), then I’ll hopefully find a groove in the fall, and have a treadmill (gasp!) in the basement by the winter.  At least then I can run during naptime.

 

One Response to “8/5 Workout: Speed Work”

  1. Joy Manning Says:

    There are a lot issues here, but one way to think about seeing Liam as you run by is to consider what a powerfully positive example you are setting for him, both in terms of health and well being, but also as an example of good self care. And all kids want their parents to live long healthy lives; regular exercise and fitness is much more closely associated with longevity than thinness. The idea that your are actually giving him something really important–not depriving him of something–is another valid way to frame that moment in your mind. And get that treadmill! If I had to run outside today I would not have run at all!


Leave a Reply

