A Little Less Of Me

My quest to become thinner and healthier

Race Reflections 25 August 2009

Filed under: Feel the Burn — lennonzgal @ 00:35

I’ve been thinking about yesterday’s race, and I have to say that despite the heat, the humidity, and my crappy time, I’m so glad I did it.  There’s just something about racing that you can’t get from any old run.  I love running for a good cause (in this case, it was for a boy who was killed by a drunk driver), and I love feeling that rush of competition, even when I’m nowhere near the front of the pack.

There are probably ups and downs to every race.  For instance:

  • Up: Not finishing last.
    • Down: There were only two people behind me, and they were walking.
  • Up: Beautiful scenery (the run was at Gring’s Mill)
    • Down: The previous week’s rain means I need new shoes.
  • Up: All the goodies you get for free (water bottle, keychain, aquaphor, t-shirt, etc)
    • Down: Having tried the energy bar in my goodie bag (think: chocolate-covered robitussin
  • Up: That feeling you get as you breeze past someone.
    • Down: Getting passed by the guy with the limp and several dads pushing joggers.

    There’s one main reason for me to race: I need to have a purpose to my running.  For me, there’s no just exercising for the sake of exercising.  I need a good reason to do it, and apparently “getting healthy” isn’t a good enough reason.  Not falling flat on my ass as I try and run down a gravelly hill is a very good reason (and, as it happens, I managed to stay upright).  That’s why I’m already looking for my next race.

    I’m thinking that I’d like to run another 5k … I would like to run it faster than my last one (a time that I don’t remember, which sort of makes it hard for me to beat, I suppose …), and I would like to feel stronger at the end of it.  Perhaps that’ll mean that I won’t be ready for Broad Street next Spring, but that’s okay.  I’ve come to the conclusion that when you’ve got a kid (especially one as cute as mine), you start to schedule things in pencil, not in pen.  So, I’ll set a goal of the Philadelphia Distance Run next September, and if Broad Street gets squeezed in there, great.  If not, that’s fine too.  If I have to push the Distance Run to 2011 because I’d rather spend time with Liam, that’s also fine.  Time will tell.  But in the meantime, bring on the 5k!

    If anyone would like to join me in a fall 5k (I’m thinking late September / early October), drop me a line here … I’d love to set up another team.  Maybe this time we’ll make dorky t-shirts 🙂

     

    One Response to “Race Reflections”

    1. Joy Manning Says:

      I definitely want to do a 5K in October. Let me know what you plan to do!


    Leave a Reply

    