A Little Less Of Me

My quest to become thinner and healthier

9/19 Workout: Long Run 19 September 2009

Filed under: Feel the Burn — lennonzgal @ 13:32

I don’t know if it was the cool weather, the speed work I’ve been keeping up with, or the fact that I feel like I need to prove to myself that I can still run at 30 (silly, I know), but I ROCKED that run today.

Way back in 2002 when we were all doing Weight Watchers together, my Uncle Joe had a run/walk regimen that really helped him lose a lot of weight.  I used to laugh at him because he wanted me to make a cassette for him that was just “Eye of the Tiger” on repeat.  I always thought, how can you just run to the same song over and over?  This morning, it just so happened that “Eye of the Tiger” came on my shuffle as I kicked off my run.  I have to say, I did find myself considering hitting the back button when it was over to hear it again.  Its the perfect pace and inspiration for a good run.

I went so much farther than I normally do on my normal 29-minute rotation that I decided not to try and stretch it to 35 minutes like I had planned … I want to be able to run Sunday and possibly Monday as well, so I didn’t want overly sore legs.  I definitely was feeling this one by the end, which is great.  I hope I can muster up that kind of energy again tomorrow!

NOTE: I decided that it’s my birthday and I’m not stressing myself out about my weight this morning, so I didn’t weigh in.  That’s not to say I’m going to eat like a horse today, but I didn’t want to constantly be focusing on a damn number today, so I’m skipping the scale until Monday morning.  See you on Monday!!

 

Leave a Reply

