A Little Less Of Me

My quest to become thinner and healthier

184.8 29 September 2009

Filed under: Daily Weight Log — lennonzgal @ 13:34

It’s downward movement, and that’s what we like to see.  Hopefully I’ll get a run in tonight with Liam … he wanted to get in the jogger so badly last night, but it was raining.  I’m keeping my fingers crossed that he and I can head out this evening for a nice run.

I’m going to be speaking with Bobby tonight, its our third meeting.  I thought it would be good to sort of do a month-in-review since I started speaking with him about a month ago.  I figured I’d start by going over the things he asked me to do:

  • Switch Out Breakfast.  Bobby gave me an oatmeal recipe that I wasn’t thrilled with when I started eating it, but I’ll admit that it’s quickly grown on me.  I now eat it probably 5 days a week, and I actually look forward to it.  This morning, I found out that I didn’t have enough of my normal steel-cut oats, so I had to go with normal oatmeal, and boy was I disappointed!  I’m loving the breakfast thing, so score one for Bobby!
  • Stop Drinking Diet Soda.  Ok, I’ll admit that I wasn’t happy with this one when he suggested it.  I mean really, everyone drinks soda, right?  Well, I’ve stopped (it was two weeks yesterday … I didn’t even drink any over my birthday extravaganza) and I did see a drastic change in my weight in that week.   On top of which, I did have a sip of the stuff this weekend, and HATED it.  Aspartame, you were a good friend when I needed you, but I think it’s best that we just cut ties and go our separate ways.  I wish you luck in everything you do, but I just can’t have you in my life anymore.  Don’t cry, I’m sure there will be other chubbies like me who will love you just as much, if not more.  There, there.
  • Bring Lunch to Work.  This one, I’ve found difficult.  When I make dinners, I make them large enough to usually eek 2-3 meals out of them, and I hate separating some of it to have for lunch the next day.  Not to mention, I’ve gotten in the habit of making just enough veggies for one meal, so I never have any leftover to add to a lunch.  Bobby said he wanted me to bring lunch twice between our chats, and I’ve done it three times, including today.  I’m working on this one, but I do love a good sandwich … that’s a hard one to remove.  My personal goal is to bring lunch twice a week over the next two weeks and see if that improves my weight any.
  • Cut Sodium Intake.  I’ve probably done this just in having done the above three steps … removing my staple Fiber One bar and cereal from breakfast, bringing lunch a couple times here and there, and dropping the sodas I was drinking (at 35 or so mg per can, I was intaking a little over 100mg of sodium just in the beverages).  This is one I am still working on … each week, I try to take a good look at the things we’re buying at the food store and opt for lower-sodium choices.  Even the muenster cheese that we get has a low-sodium choice that I’m selecting.  Baby steps.

For all of that work from 28 August (my first Bobby weigh-in) to last week’s weigh-in, I’ve lost about 2 pounds.  In one month, that’s my .5 pounds per week average, so I’m pleased with the results.  Could I have done it myself?  I don’t know.  I think that cutting soda was a big step for me, and a healthy one at that.  I’ll be interested to see what steps we’ll discuss tonight. 

This next month will be a good tell as to how things are going with Bobby … since I had my birthday extravaganza inserted smack into the middle of this month, I know my numbers are skewed a bit.  In the upcoming month, we have the odd dinner out, but nothing that will cause a huge fluctuation.

I’ll post how the chat goes in the morning!

 

One Response to “184.8”

  1. Joy Manning Says:

    Those are some really positive changes! Congratulations. Especially on the soda front. I feel like if you’ve taken a sip and responded with “yuck,” you’ve seen the light. I don’t know how you feel about sour things, but I love a glass of water with tons of lemon and lime squeezed into it or a glass of unsweetened iced tea, like raspberry zinger.


Leave a Reply

