A Little Less Of Me

My quest to become thinner and healthier

184.0 12 October 2009

Filed under: Daily Weight Log — lennonzgal @ 14:28

Nearly a pound down from this time last week … if I can keep that up, it’ll be a good week!

We tried quinoa last night.  I can’t say that I didn’t like it, so that’s a start!  I tried it very plain, with just some asiago on it … I wanted to get the taste before I started messing with recipes.  For those of you who haven’t ever tried quinoa (pronounced keen-WAH), it’s these little tiny ball-shaped grains.  It sort of looks like what rotini might poop.  It was a little … crunchier? … than I thought it might be (I may not have used enough water), but ultimately not bad.  Liam was shovelling it in by the handful, and when we find something that the kid will eat, we make it a staple in our house.  So, quinoa it is.  I’ll be hitting the interwebs and recipe books for a series of recipes for the stuff.  I’d ultimately like a few good ones so that I don’t feel like I’m always cooking the same thing.

Another thing that I’d like to note about last night’s dinner – we always buy Bell and Evans chicken.  They are essentially free-range, naturally-fed chickens, and I do honestly think they taste better than regular old Perdue.  Also, they tend to be lower in fat and calories, which is a nice bonus.  So, Will did the shopping the other day and accidentally bought thighs … a little higher in calories and fat, so we don’t normally buy them.  It just so happens that I had recently read something that Joy Manning (it might have been in her book, Almost Meatless … I honestly can’t remember now) had said about how thigh meat is that much tastier and it makes the meal all that much better – man was she right!  There was so much more flavor in that chicken, it was wonderful.  And the best part?  I didn’t have to eat half a piece of chicken …  I ate one thigh and that was perfect for me!  Liam loved it as well, which is always a bonus in our house.  Looks like we’ll be cooking with something a little different from now on!

 

4 Responses to “184.0”

  1. Joy Manning Says:

    Chicken thighs rule! They are cheaper, tastier, and so much easier to cook. And as long as your remove the skin, the fat/calorie difference is really negligible.

    And quiona shouldn’t be crunchy. You don’t have to add the perfect amount of water. You can boil it, just like pasta, and just drain off the water when it’s done. (Taste it–it should be tender like couscous.) Put it back in the hot pot (off the heat) to let it dry off a bit.

    You can make a meal based on quinoa very simply by preparing it as above and then mixing it up with sauteed or roasted vegetables and stir-fried cubes of chicken thigh.

  2. lennonzgal Says:

    Thanks! I was afraid to make it like pasta because the instructions didn’t say to do it like that, but I’ll try it and hopefully the next batch will be much better!!

  3. Mary Jo Says:

    Is this the same Jackie who would only eat frozen peas as a little kid? I can’t believe she would be eating, much less cooking quinoa! I’m impressed girl!

  4. lennonzgal Says:

    Well, in my defense, I still won’t eat peas if they’re cooked – they gotta be right out of the freezer, but yes … my tastes have improved a bit over the years!


Leave a Reply

