A Little Less Of Me

My quest to become thinner and healthier

181.0 23 October 2009

Filed under: Daily Weight Log — lennonzgal @ 10:36

I’m a little frustrated that I’m about a half pound up from last week, but I just took a look back at the last few weeks, and I’m nearly a pound down from two weeks ago, and I’m over 2 pounds down from two weeks ago, so the trend is still downwards, despite some bumps in the road. 

I have noticed a little bit of a fluctuation with myself … I’ll go a couple of weeks with a great loss, then gain a week, then kick back in with losing.  Hopefully, that’s what’s happening here.  Time will tell.

Last night, I spoke with Bobby.  Bobby’s main point in all of this is that there are four primary foods (and I’m putting them in the order of importance for me) – Relationships, Exercise, Spirituality, and Work.  I’ve touched on how I feel about my relationships here before, and I’m obviously doing decent with the exercise; I try my best to get in a workout at least 3 times per week.

Last night, we focused on the spirituality side quite a bit.  Bobby’s point, and I agree, is that you can’t expect to lose weight unless you’re well balanced with the primary foods.  I can certianly understand how spirituality comes into play here.  When I was in college, I used to stop in at the chapel probably once every other day.  I’d just sit in there and do a sort of half-prayer half-sorting through my day kind of thing.  It definitely had a calming effect on me at the time.  It reduced my stress and sort of gave me an outlet for venting in way.  When you’re calm, you’re more apt to lose weight quickly. 

At this point in my life, I’m not sure where my spirituality lies.  For me, running is definitely a form of meditation – when I have a run where I totally lose myself, those are the days where I come back so proud of my speed and distance, and I also come back so much calmer than before.  Still, it wouldn’t hurt to be able to have that calm every day, and I don’t.  Much to my family’s dismay, I’m not an avid churchgoer.  I grew up Catholic, spent a lot of time as a teenager in youth groups and the like, but I’ve sort of opened my eyes to how the Christian religion acts as a whole, and I can’t say that I’m impressed.  I remain Catholic because a) I do still feel drawn to it, and b) I feel like its probably the Christian religion that expresses the least hatred.  Still, I don’t do the church thing because we haven’t found one yet that preaches what we agree with … then again, we haven’t tried too hard either.  YOU try and take a baby into a church and see how often YOU end up attending 🙂 

I also find myself leaning a little bit toward Buddhism.  I often joke that I’m Buddeo-Christian.  I find myself interested in (and believing in) enlightenment, reincarnation, those sorts of things.  I feel like my path is going to lead me into a sort of middle ground between the two religions, so maybe I’ll just start my own.  In all seriousness though, Bobby asked me if I felt like my life was lacking here, and I honestly couldn’t answer him.  It’s something I think that I need to explore for myself.  Will it allow me to lose weight more?  Probably not in major terms.  I think that finding a good spiritual home is a great way to bring a sort of satisfaction or fulfillment into one’s life, and that will lead to better health overall. 

Aside from that, Bobby was pleased with the weight loss, and was happy to see that I had added a weekly quinoa meal to our menus.  He suggested that I also try tempe and millet, so those are on the to-do list for the next few weeks.  He also stressed the importance of drinking half of my body weight in ounces of water.  So, I should be drinking 90-ish ounces of water per day … I do this easily on the four days I’m at work, but the three days I’m at home are a challenge.  So, my goal is to get into the habit of making at least one of those days another 90-ouncer. 

We’ll be speaking again in another two weeks, I’m sort of hoping that I can brag about being 179 at that point.  We’ll see what happens.

 

One Response to “181.0”

  1. lisa d Says:

    your doing the, i’m 30 now time to pull my life together walk. we all do it.it will all come together for you,you are one of the most focused and positive people i know.how could you go wrong on such a steady pathway ? welcome to the real adult world.you are a welcome member….


Leave a Reply

