A Little Less Of Me

My quest to become thinner and healthier

Body Fat / BMI Calculation 6 November 2009

Filed under: Musings — lennonzgal @ 01:29

Well, I did it.  I got a baseline read on my Body Fat Percentage and my BMI.  I called my local Curves and asked them to do it, and they were gracious enough to give me a base reading, though I think that they’ll expect me to join the club if I go back for it again, but it’s a start.

My BMI is 31.7, well into the obese category according to WebMD, which I knew, but am still frustrated by.  Of course my personal ideal weight of 155 is 27.5, which is very high on the overweight scale, and I know I was relatively thin by that point.  So, I don’t know how much faith I put in BMI.

Body fat, however, seems to hold a little more weight (ha!).  My percentage is 33.8%.  I’ve been poking around on the internet and there seem to be varying recommendations here.  One I ready actually said that normal is up to 33%, and I KNOW that can’t be possible.  I checked with WebMD again, and they said that up to 31% is acceptable.  So, I’m still obese, but I feel like 2-3% is a manageable initial goal.

The lady at Curves used a little handheld machine to calculate both numbers.  She inputted this morning’s weight, my height, and my age and I held onto these little metal handles to get the numbers.  I would love to know if this is considered more or less reliable than calipers or the hydro-versions.  The lady at Curves suggested that I call my doctor and see if they have something to measure it, which I might do.  I’d ideally like to get both numbers maybe once a month, max … once a quarter at the least.  For now, I’ve got a good baseline to start with.

 

Leave a Reply

