A Little Less Of Me

My quest to become thinner and healthier

179.2 (14.2 Total Lost) 20 November 2009

Filed under: Daily Weight Log — lennonzgal @ 15:29

A quarter-pound is nothing to worry about, a potential fluctuation, or merely the effect of no exercise all week.  In any case, its my lowest weight of the  year, and that’s damn exciting!  With just .8 pounds to go to hit  15 pounds, I feel like that’s a definite possibility, even with Thanksgiving and Christmas coming up.

Last night, Bobby and I had our chat … this week’s was interesting.  Bobby kicked off the conversation saying that he was concerned with the rate at which I was losing weight and thought that with a little harder work, I could very easily lose more on a weekly basis (he was looking at maybe 1.5 pounds/week).  I told him no way.  If you’ve been reading since the beginning, you’ll know that I DID lose weight at a rapid pace (1-3 pounds per week for a total of 80 pounds in a year), and here I am, trying to take some of it back off. 

Losing weight quickly does a few things to me – first, it stresses me out.  Immensely.  I start feeling like I HAVE to lose that weight, like I HAVE to meet that weekly goal.  Right now, I’ve loosely defined my goal as around .5 pounds per week, with really any loss for the year being an accomplishment.  I’m officially under my doctor-logged pre-baby weight (179.6), and I’m a mere 3 pounds from my own logged pre-baby weight (somewhere around 176, according to a Weight Watchers ledger the spring before we got pregnant).  Coming from someone who was 230 at her highest pregnant weight, I think that’s excellent.  I was 193 a the beginning of the year, so seeing the 170’s again is happy for me.  If it takes me 5 years to lose the weight I’d like to lose, I’m fine with that.  For starters, that’ll force me into the habit of regular exercise and healthy eating.  Secondly, it’ll hopefully get Liam into the mindset of healthy eating without having his mother walking around mumbling about how “I should have lost a pound this week, but I lost .5 … this sucks … blah blah blah.”  I think that this slow pace is the best thing for me, and I’m happy here.

Bobby said he sees frequent yo-yoing in my blog … and yes, if you look on a per-week basis, you’ll see that after a weekend I’m up a couple pounds.  On average, around 2.  I’ve come up with a few reasons for that:

  1. Pizza.  I have pizza on the weekends.  That’s not changing.  I don’t handle sodium well, and I swell, causing weight gain.  I’ll deal.  It’s better than me giving up pizza, trust me.  And at the very least, we’re starting to hone in on a pizza recipe we love, so at least that sodium content will be lower soon.
  2. Water.  I’m terrible at drinking water at home.  Partly because Liam thinks that every glass/bottle/cup is his, and tends to drink from it, potentially breaking it.  So, I leave them in high spots in the house, of which we have very few.
  3. It’s a weekend!  Let’s be honest, it’s the weekend.  Weekends are filled with friends, food, and fun.  I’m a firm believer that if you don’t have that, then life isn’t worth living.  You need to go out.  You need to enjoy  yourself, and I feel sorry for the people who spend their weekends at home, alone, because their afraid that a restaurant might cause a temporary gain.  Not me.  I’m enjoying this life, and every life after this one.

So, with all of that explanation, Bobby challenged me to get more water in.  That I can do.  I’m going to start filling a pitcher with the filtered water from the fridge, and see where that gets me.  I have a ton of Sigg bottles in the house, so I can fill a few up and place them in spots where I know I’ll be and see where that goes.  I’m so in the habit of drinking water at work that its second nature; it should be that way at home too.

The next thing we talked about was resistance training.  I do it, but not often and not long enough to warrant calling it a workout.  I’ve got a couple of weights in my family room and I’ll use them when I think of it, and that’s about it.  Exercise to me is something I have to enjoy and I HATE using weights.  Hate it.  Bobby wants me to look into having a personal trainer come to the house once a month and teach me some workouts.  I’m going to look into it, but I’m not making any promises.  First, I don’t care what anyone says … paying a personal trainer to come to the house is a waste of money to me.  The money that I’m spending on Bobby was put aside and saved up so we could do it … I’m very hesitant to drop money on a trainer.  Second, having someone come to my house once a month to teach me exercises is in no way going to inspire me to do said training the rest of the month.  That’s something I’ve got to be willing to do, and I’m just not yet.  That’s not to say I won’t be, but right now, running is what I love, and that’s what I do.  So, I’m going to think about it, I’m going to get some information on it, but I’m not committing to anything yet.

The next thing he asked me to do was to give him a sort of life priority list.  What are the top 10 priorities in my life?  I think I see where he’s going with this (i.e., I can almost guarantee you that “be healthy” won’t be high on that list), so I’m going to do it and see where it leads.  Those things tend to be eye-openers, so we’ll see.

This call was our 5th meeting of 8, so we have three left.  I did the calculations, and the last one may be scheduled the week after Christmas, which is inspiration to keep the holiday weight to a minimum.  That’ll definitely be a bonus, because I don’t want to head into 2010 with extra work to do!

 

One Response to “179.2 (14.2 Total Lost)”

  1. Joy Manning Says:

    Unfortunately, the vast majority of scientific literature regarding weight loss shows us that all but a statistically insignificant number of people that lose weight gain it back, especially among those who have lost more than 10 percent of their total weight. Sad, but true. And it’s even more certain to happen to those who lose weight quickly on a non sustainable diet/eating program. I think your approach is the only one that can lead to an overall healthier life and a small size IF that is what is appropriate and natural for your body. By focusing on your health, being a good example for Liam, and your fitness, you will eventually become the exact size you are supposed to be. I am confident.

    On another note: I hear your about the weight training. I also just don’t want to do it. It isn’t fun for me. Like you, I have fun doing cardio stuff–especially running, walking, and spinning. I actually really feel grateful for that. Exercise is just as important for people who don’t like to do it!


Leave a Reply

