A Little Less Of Me

My quest to become thinner and healthier

I Resolve … 8 January 2010

Filed under: Musings — lennonzgal @ 19:01

New Year’s Resolutions to me are definitely optional.  They’re a way to look back at the previous year, recognize the successes and find a way to improve upon any shortcomings.  I think that I did pretty well last year with making positive changes in my life, so there won’t be any drastic changes here, but there ARE changes I’d like to make, and there ARE goals that I’d like to continue to meet. 

I have also found that my resolutions are recently moving away from just direct health/exercise goals and towards more goals in the rest of my life.  That said, I think that each and every one of them is appropriate to mention here, because I think that indirectly they’ll all positively affect my health.  So, with your permission, I’d like to present ….. MY RESOLUTIONS!

  • Health / Exercise:
    • Make weekly food lists.  I did this when Liam was first born.  Once a week, I’d sit down and write out what I planned to cook for the week.  It made life much easier when we were trying to fill the fridge, freezer, and pantry.  Most weeks, there’d be one meal where we opted to go for leftovers, but all in all, it helped to have a sort of laid out plan.  Generally, when I can’t think of anything to cook, that’s when I lean toward the chicken-and-pasta staples.  If I give it some good thought, I can move towards a variety of dishes.
    • CSA.  I keep meaning to join a CSA, and this year I intend to do it.  It’ll give us a great supply of fresh fruits and veggies, and it’ll force me to try stuff I might not have tried otherwise.
    • New Food.  Last year, I intended to make one new meal a month – either something that contained a new ingredient or a new way of cooking things we know we like.  Basically, add a little more variety to our meal rotation.  I’m going to continue that because it really seems to be working out for us.
    • Stick with some of Bobby’s recommendations.  As much as I feel like I didn’t need a nutritionist, there were some recommendations that Bobby had that I did feel had some merit.
      • Soda.  We all knew that this one was a problem for me.  Now its not so much.  I have recently come to enjoy a single diet soda on pizza night, and I believe I’ll continue that tradition, assuming it doesn’t have any negative effect on my weight loss.  That’s it though, no other sodas.  Period.
      • Pasta.  Surprise!  While I initially wasn’t happy with this recommendation, I have found a way to make it more fitting towards my lifestyle – I’m not cutting out as much pasta as I am adding in other foods.  I’m going to try and stick to just two pasta-based dishes per week, if that. 
    • Exercise 3x Per Week.  This is a repeat from last year, but one I feel is worth reiterating.  When I started this last year, I thought, “Oh, I’ll kick off with a 3x per week routine and by 2010, I’ll be exercising every day!”  There are a few things I didn’t account for here – my 10-hour workdays, the fact that Will also might want to exercise, and Liam.  So, I think that sticking to 3x per week, at least 30 minutes per session, is a good deal.  If I do more, great. 
  • General Lifestyle Changes:
    • Money.  I’m a shopper.  I can’t help it.  I love nice things – Coach, Lucky, Ann Taylor, just to name a few.  I have nearly 100 pairs of shoes in my closet right now, and yes … I wear them all.  That said, we also put quite a bit of money into savings and mutual funds, etc.  We’ve been meeting with different financial advisors for a couple of years, and each one has vastly different opinions on what we should do with our money.  I’ve read dozens of financial books at this point, and each of THOSE has different recommendations for what to do with our money.  My goal this year is to settle down with a single advisor and to get started really investing.  Time to grow up, Jackie!
    • Will.  Yup.  It’s that time.  We have a son now and should Will and I get hit by a bus tomorrow, we need to know that he’s going to be well cared-for.  We’ve already spoken to the folks that would get him, but we need to actually put all of that down on paper, and we’ve been avoiding it.  So, this year’s goal is to find a lawyer and get started on all of that.  Knowing that Liam is safe and sound will relieve a lot of stress, I think.
    • Proritization.  Every week, I start off completely stressed out because of the hundred things I didn’t get done over the weekend.  When I was pregnant with Liam, Will started making me make a list at the beginning of the week of the things that HAD to get done that week.  We’d work off the list until it was complete, and then we’d stop.  No more work for the rest of the week.  It was nice – if we finished by Wednesday, we’d have a relaxing weekend.  If we didn’t, we plugged through and worked off as much as we could.  I need to go back to that.  The stress is killing me.

I honestly think that’s it.  Its a long list, but its all little things that I think will positively influence my life.  Every one of them is manageable and I think I can handle it. 

Now that you’ve had some time to think about your resolutions, what are they?  And do you think I’m biting off a little more than I can chew?

 

Leave a Reply

