A Little Less Of Me

My quest to become thinner and healthier

181.6 19 February 2010

Filed under: Daily Weight Log — lennonzgal @ 11:46

I’m continually amazed by just how much my weight affects my confidence and how my confidence affects me.  Despite a recent corporate no-jeans mandate, my program has decided to allow jeans on Fridays anyway (we used to be allowed to wear them whenever, but that’s another story for another day).  Normally, I try and dress nicely on Fridays as a show of appreciation for allowing comfy pants.  I’ve got an array of blazers, button-downs, and other tops that are meant to pair with jeans to dress them up. 

With my weight being up over the past month and a half, I’ve been gravitating towards things in my closet like Old Navy’s Half-Zip Performance Fleece – yes, it’s got a collar, but its not exactly what you’d call professional wear.  Even during the normal khaki-saturated week, I’ve been leaning towards bigger, frumpier sweaters rather than some of the cuter items I’ve purchased in the last few months. 

This morning, I did a little happy dance on the scale and without thinking, donned an untucked tuxedo shirt paired with a pinstripe short vest and decided to rock my rhinestone Levi’s (don’t worry, I didn’t bedazzle them myself, its just the swooshes on the pockets that are lined in rhinestones … I promise I’m not regressing back to 1980, though I have been known to fall into the 70’s on occasion).  I slipped on a pair of faux-suede knee-high boots and headed out the door. 

It wasn’t until I was on my way to work that I laughed at myself.  As soon as my weight dropped down to a more comfortable range, I felt like anything in my closet was game again.  And I can feel myself exuding confidence again.  That’s a lesson right there – high weight = low confidence.  Shouldn’t have to be that way, but it is.  So, onward, and in this case, downward!

 

Leave a Reply

