A Little Less Of Me

My quest to become thinner and healthier

2/21 Workout – HHA 22 February 2010

Filed under: Feel the Burn — lennonzgal @ 11:47

Do you remember being in grade school and being forced to take the Presidential Fitness Test?  Well, I do.  I also remember NOT getting the certificate every. stinking. year.  The challenges, seemingly easy now, were things like running/walking a mile in less than 15 minutes, curl-ups, pull-ups, shuttle runs, and a sit-and-reach.  I could basically do none of it.

Well, President Obama in his infinite wisdom is providing people like me with the chance to STILL get a certificate with the new President’s Challenge – I’m fairly certain this is the first year for it, and I think its a great idea.  I decided to go for the Active Lifestyle challenge to get me moving 5 days a week, so you’ll see a lot more workouts now … hopefully I’ll see some good come out of it in the way of weight loss!  In the meantime, I think its a great way to just get people active, at least for a little while.

 

2 Responses to “2/21 Workout – HHA”

  1. I remember the Presidential Fitness test! I was never allowed to run it because of having asthma, so I never got the certificate either. Look at us now! I’ve been running too. I’ve been thinking about doing the Broad Street Run but am afraid to commit at this point. Good for you getting outside when it’s cold. I’m chicken and just use my treadmill.

  2. lennonzgal Says:

    I was also thinking of doing Broad Street, but I think that’s best left for next year. I just don’t have the time anymore to get outside as much as I’d like to. Maybe if the weather gets warmer, I might get out more and see my mileage drastically increase, but at this point, I’m thinking of hitting a few 5k’s and being content with that. Hopefully by the end of summer I can upgrade to a 10k. As for outside running, I love it. As long as its not icy or snowing, I’d much rather get outside than run on a treadmill. I just don’t have the patience for that – never did!


Leave a Reply

