A Little Less Of Me

My quest to become thinner and healthier

5/7 Workout: Run 8 May 2010

Filed under: Feel the Burn — lennonzgal @ 13:17

Morning runs are a feeling that I had forgotten about – I’ve gotten so used to evening runs where my tummy is full from eating all day, and I’ve got plenty of calories to burn.  In the morning, I’ve gone 8 or so hours without eating, and I’ve had just one meal prior to my run (I can’t run on an empty stomach – I pass out).  I definitely can feel the difference when I have had fewer calories as I run.  Still, I realize that if I’m going to do the PDR, I need to get used to running in the mornings again.  I don’t know if I’ll be running the PDR this year or next, but in either case, morning runs are necessity to make sure that I’m not thrown a curve ball when I start the race.

All that said, I did pretty well.  I ran about 35 minutes and put in about 2.6 miles.  Slower than my usual (I normally put in about 2.75 – 2.9 miles in 35 minutes), but I do believe I pulled a muscle last weekend doing gardening of all things (hey –  YOU spend that much time squatting and see how YOUR muscles like it!), and it has finally gotten to the point where it doesn’t hurt constantly.  So, I feel like my runs will speed up again once I’m not subconsciously trying to protect the muscle.  In the end, I’m proud of myself for not saying, “Well, I injured myself, so let me sit on the couch for two weeks and recover.”  Instead, I got out there and ran on it, just carefully.  That’s progress in my book!!

 

Leave a Reply

