A Little Less Of Me

My quest to become thinner and healthier

Plus Size? Really?! 13 June 2010

Filed under: Musings — lennonzgal @ 00:42

So, I was checking out CNN this evening and saw this article.  While I could normally care less about this sort of stuff, I saw a quote that struck me:

“Every time I hear the heartbeat, I just start bawling,” says the 5’11” beauty, who has been the face of plus-size modeling for over a decade.

Plus-size model.  Nice to hear them refer to her as a beauty.  I smiled.  Til I saw this line in the same article:

The size 10 model isn’t too worried about getting back into shape after her baby is born.

Wait … WHAT?!  When the hell is a size 10 considered plus-size?  I mean, I’ve heard that the camera adds ten pounds, but that makes her what?  A size 12?  How are women – normal, non-emaciated women – supposed to feel good about themselves when they’re lumping a size 10 woman into the plus-size category?!  As far as I’m concerned, she should be the one modeling regular clothes … isn’t that the average size for a woman in the U.S. anyway?  No wonder clothes never look good on me … I was apparently the only one unaware that I should be shopping in the plus-size catalogs.  Sigh.

To the fashion industry: can’t you people get it right?

 

Leave a Reply

