A Little Less Of Me

My quest to become thinner and healthier

07/03 Workout: Run, Thwarted! 4 July 2010

Filed under: Feel the Burn — lennonzgal @ 13:49

I actually did get a run in – 2.9 miles.  I was planning on running 3 miles, but at exactly 2.9, a bee swooped in and got stuck under the brim of my hat – it took me half a second to pull the hat off, but in that half-second, the bee stung me.  Here’s the thing – I’m allergic to mosquito bites (my mosquito bites generally blow up to the size of a half-dollar), and I’ve had several doctors tell me to be careful of bees, because if I react badly to mosquitoes, I likely will react badly to bees.  Thankfully, I was two doors away from home at the time, so I turned and ran home, just a little panicky.  I popped a benadryl, and aside from the sting hurting like hell, I am glad to announce that I am not, in fact, allergic to bees!

The rest of the run was nice though, I averaged about 13:00/miles, which was great.  And I know that I could have gone the full 3 miles, probably even more than that, so I feel confident about signing up for another 5k.  I also feel like I can muddle through what is turning out to be one hotter-than-hell summer.  Now that I have plowed through nearly 3 miles again, I’m going to try and force myself to get through it in the heat, albeit probably a bit slower.  That’s okay though, fast or slow, three miles is three miles, right?

Speaking of, I’ve had a couple people email me and comment here about how they couldn’t run in 80+ degree weather, and I wanted to mention two things that might help (though maybe its just an unwillingness, which I can totally understand … I’m a summer person though and don’t mind the heat as much): first, remember that I follow the Galloway Method, even though I’m not yet marathon training … I do find the run-walk-run rotation to make me feel more confident in running, and I do believe that I run faster in my runs at that point because I know I only need to run for 5 minutes before I get a 1 minute walk in.  You can withstand almost anything for 5 minutes.  On top of that, I have a Nathan Hydration Belt (in pink, of course) – one of the bottles has a little bit of gatorade in it, while the other has water – I sip a little gatorade during each walk, and I do swear that it helps.  I don’t chug it; the stuff has a lot of calories, and I don’t think I need that much, but in this heat, I do think that I need at least some replenishment!

Anyway, that’s my story, and I’m sticking to it.  Based on how damn hot it is tomorrow morning, I’m thinking I might try and fit in another run … it does feel really good to get that much exercise in!

 

Leave a Reply

