A Little Less Of Me

My quest to become thinner and healthier

11/30 Workout: Speed Run 1 December 2010

Filed under: Feel the Burn — lennonzgal @ 13:13

Another delightful 5am run.  I’m gonna be honest – I’m a little disappointed that I didn’t think of that sooner.  Liam goes to daycare two days a week.  Will and I take turns dropping him off, and whoever does the dropping doesn’t leave the house til 6:30am.  The one who does the pickup leaves the house between 5:30am (me) and 6am (Will).  Given that, if I wake up at my normal time of 4:45am (sigh), I can grab a quick breakfast and get out for a short 30-minute run while Will gets ready to go to work.  Unfortunately, I think I’m down to precious few weeks where that’ll be do-able since the temperatures are soon to plummet.  I’ll take them while I can get them though.

Yesterday morning was wonderful – it was about 43 degrees out; had it been sunny out, I wouldn’t have been able to wear the long-sleeved tech shirt that I had.  With the moon still out though, it was perfect.  I felt like I plowed through the speed portions, petering out just at the point where I needed to slow down anyway.  I did 2.2 miles in 29:45-ish, which is a decent speed for me.

I also feel good about the morning runs because it minimizes the time I need to be away from Liam.  I’m already away from him for a 40-hour work week and a long run on Saturday, fitting in two weeknight runs was making me feel bad for skipping out on him constantly.  Being able to switch one of those to the morningtime when he’d be asleep anyway made me feel like I was making great use of my time!!

 

Leave a Reply

