A Little Less Of Me

My quest to become thinner and healthier

I Finished! 4 January 2011

Filed under: Musings — lennonzgal @ 13:42
Tags: , , ,

I just finished reading Run Like a Mother: How to Get Moving–and Not Lose Your Family, Job, or Sanity, and I LOVED IT! I’m so glad I purchased it on a whim, and I’m even more glad that I started reading it right away.

In a nutshell, the book is written by two amazing women – Sarah Bowen and Dimity McDowell – who write for a myriad of publications, including Runner’s World, a magazine I subscribe to but don’t read nearly enough.  They’re both working mothers who run, and who need to find time to run.  The book goes through all sorts of mom- and woman-related issues with running, from that guilty feeling a mom gets leaving her family yet again to exercise, to simple things like whether its acceptable to fart on a run.  The two women are a riot (they take turns writing chapters), and to add to the fun they apparently sent out a questionnaire to hundreds of other moms about their exercise regimens.  The quotes that are included in the book range from downright goofy (one mother said that she kept her same pair of running shoes until she got a minor case of plantar fascitis, and then she’d get a new pair) to funny and downright true (one mother was asked if she strength trained – she asked if carrying 20-lb twins counted).  They gave great tips on proper running attire and posture, and there’s even a cross-training workout in there, if you’re interested. 

Its definitely a book that I’ll end up reading more than once, and I’ll probably end up passing it around to anyone who I can get to read it.  Starting with Will.  It inspired me to get out there and run, and I really credit the book for the fact that I was able to get myself out on a run at least 6 times over the week and a half that I was on vacation.  Over the past few Christmases, I’ve considered going out for a run, but there’s always an excuse – its too cold, its raining, its snowing, I’m tired, there’s a gingerbread man speaking to me in my dreams telling me not to go, whatever.  And each time I come up with an excuse, I skip a run and feel worse and worse about myself by the end of the vacation.  The book though really got me out and moving, which is awesome.

I have to say this – its not JUST for moms.  I would say that its probably not for anyone who can easily come up with time to exercise in his or her life, but anyone who thinks, “Gee, I’d love to get to the gym, but I’m way too busy,” would probably get some inspiration from the book.  Its especially for anyone with a family – not just kids … a husband, a husband and a dog, a million cats, whatever.  Just get the book if you can and make time to read it.  Well worth the trouble.

Over the next few days/weeks I want to pop on and write about a few of the main points that I took away from the book – there are so many of them that a single blog post would probably be too much, and I definitely want to gush about the book a little bit more!

It was such a great book, I’ve decided to make it a goal to read at least one heath related book this year.  Will bought me one called Savor: Mindful Eating, Mindful Life, which is my next book.  Its by a man called Thich Nhat Hanh, who is a well-known and well-respected Zen master.  I own a few of his books, and I’ve always been impressed by them.  I’m really excited to start it up, and I’m sure I’ll be even more excited to talk about it when I finish!  Just be patient with me – it takes me AGES to read.  I get about one night a week where I can grab a warm bath and read a little in the tub, so I get maybe 10-15 pages done a week.  It takes me forever to read anything anymore!!

 

2 Responses to “I Finished!”

  1. just added this book to my wish list – thanks! 🙂

  2. lennonzgal Says:

    Definitely a must-read! Let me know if you’d like to borrow my copy, I’d be happy to bring it in for you!


Leave a Reply

