A Little Less Of Me

My quest to become thinner and healthier

1/18 Workout: Speed Run 19 January 2011

Filed under: Feel the Burn — lennonzgal @ 14:27

Talk about a high-stress day. Let me start by saying this: I always take two weeks off at the end of the year, or thereabouts. Since Christmas and New Year’s were on Saturdays this year, I took off slightly less than two weeks, working the Monday/Tuesday before the holidays really began. Still, almost two weeks.

Since Liam was born, taking those two weeks off has been hard – not because I don’t want to be home, but because I so desperately want to be able to be home with him all the time. Going back to work in January is about the hardest thing I have to deal with each year. It takes me well into February before I can get back into the groove and realize that if we want to eat, I need to work. Not exactly fun, but there it is.

Since its wintertime, every storm that comes along I pray and pray that it’ll be enough to snow myself and Liam in. Thus far this year, we haven’t had that. So yesterday, I was sitting in work, WAY bummed that I had to be there, when Will sent me an instant message (we work on the same program in the same company):

Will: “Do you know the address to email the whole building? The front parking lot is flooding, and the water is halfway up the cars.”
Me: “Seriously?! Halfway up the cars?”
Will: “Probably exaggerating, but its at the bottoms of the doors on some cars.”
Me: “Oooo! Let’s go look!”

Just as I sent that message, I got another one from a friend at work:

Chad: “Um, are you the one with the cute little red Ford parked in like the first row by the flag pole?”
Me: “Yeah…” (I knew exactly where he was going with this, I just didn’t want to hear it)
Chad: “Parking lot’s flooding right around your car. You need to go move it like now. I’ll help you.”

Sigh.  So, Will and I ran out to the front of the building to find my car practically swimming in the lot.  Apparently, the plow guy had plowed ALL of the parking lot’s snow over the storm drain during the last storm, and no one at the company thought to unclog said drains.  So, when the warmer temps and rain started yesterday, the water pooled around where the storm drain is, because the lot is of course slanted to force the water into the drains, or in this case, into my car.

I had about 1/4″ of water in the front seat and 2″ of water in my back seat – I have thus far vacuumed 11 gallons of water from my car, and every time I sop it out, more shows up.  Really, its a treat.  I had to vacuum it every hour and then wait for more water to show up.  In the meantime, I thought I might as well get a run in while the temps were 35 degrees and the snow was melty.  My Garmin claims that I did 2.5 miles in about 13:00/mile, which is a little fast for me, so I’m not sure that I believe it, but since there was so much snow on the ground I was taking a sort of weird way around the neighborhood.

All in all, I’m glad that I was able to get out – the rain had subsided for a little bit, and I was less soggy than I had thought I might be, which is great.  The run felt good, and I’m really proud of myself for getting out.  Even better, I think it de-stressed me a little bit.

In the meantime, my car needs to be detailed and looked over, so I’m still tight as hell, but hopefully a couple more runs will clear that all up!!

 

Leave a Reply

