A Little Less Of Me

My quest to become thinner and healthier

1/20 Workout: Hill Run 21 January 2011

Filed under: Feel the Burn — lennonzgal @ 11:40

I can’t even begin to tell you how amazingly strong I felt last night.  I started out the run saying to myself, “Ok, its cold and I only want to do a mile and a half, so let’s just plug through it and get home.”  By the time I reached the hill at the top of my neighborhood, I was feeling good and feeling like perhaps I might take it to 2 miles instead. 

The rule of thumb on a hill run is to find a hill that takes you about 30 seconds to a minute to get up, and then run up it and back down in repititions.  Since I pass by the hill twice during my run, I do the hill twice on the first pass and twice on the second.  After last night, I’m thinking I might have to increase that to three times per pass.

In the end, I managed 2.75 miles, and probably could have gone for three if I had felt like it – I didn’t even feel all that beat when I got home, so I feel like perhaps I can push through a little harder next time.  Its hard to decide whether I want to keep the speed but increase the hill work, or keep the hill work and increase the speed.  I guess we’ll see what I feel like doing the next time I’m out there!

 

Leave a Reply

