A Little Less Of Me

My quest to become thinner and healthier

3/20 Workout: Long Run 21 March 2011

Filed under: Feel the Burn — lennonzgal @ 17:29

Yesterday, I nailed 7 miles at 13:20/mile.  And today, those 7 miles feel like they’re nailing me!

I’m actually pretty proud of myself – after rushing through 5 miles last week to make sure we got out of the house in time, I was a little apprehensive about trying 7 miles.  In all technicality, I should have only done about 6.5 – you’re only supposed to increase your mileage about 10% each week.  Still, I knew I had 7 miles in me, I knew I’d done it before (albeit about 5 years ago – yikes!), and I knew I could do it again.  So, off I went. 

Sunday was a lovely day, somewhere in the 50’s, sunny enough for capris and a short-sleeved tee.  It was one of those days where everyone and their brother was outside, so I spent a good portion of the run wishing everyone a Happy Spring!  I think that half of my motivation came from the fact that winter is officially over.  The other half came from the sugar in the sweedish fish flavored Rita’s Water Ice that I had for lunch.

All in all, a great run.  I definitely felt at the end that I didn’t have much, if anything, left in me, and I cursed a little bit as I passed my house at 6.95 miles – I wasn’t skipping out on .05 miles just to get in the door, so I ran two houses down and turned around to make that 7 mile marker. 

Today, I’ll proudly limp as a sign that I mastered the 7 mile loop!

 

Leave a Reply

