A Little Less Of Me

My quest to become thinner and healthier

3/26 Workout: LOOOONG Run 28 March 2011

Filed under: Feel the Burn — lennonzgal @ 18:00

Nailed 7.75 miles on Saturday and felt REALLY good.  Also felt like I didn’t have a chance of eeking out much more than that, which is good.  I shouldn’t have been able to feel like I was going to push farther, that would have meant I wasn’t pushing enough during the run.  I hit the 10% increase basically dead-on (going from 7 miles last week to 7.75 this week), and I felt like it was definitely do-able.  I also felt like perhaps that May half-marathon isn’t such a bad idea after all.

I keep flip-flopping on whether or not I’m going to do it.  I’ve mentioned the possibility to a few people who have all scrunched up their faces and said, “Oohhh, isn’t Fairmount Park really really hilly?”  Now, I’m certainly not afraid of hills (I swear I live in the hilliest neighborhood this side of the Appalachians), but I also don’t know that I want my first half marathon in about 5 years to be one that nearly kills me either.  So, I flip-flop.  I honestly need to do some research and take a look at the race map and determine exactly how hilly it might be.  Another factor in my success will be the entire month of April.  April showers may bring May flowers, but they also bring crappy workouts.  If I can manage to avoid getting totally rained out in April, then I expect I’ll be running 13.1 in May, which would be nice.  Maybe not getting into Broad Street wasn’t such a bad thing after all!

 

Leave a Reply

