A Little Less Of Me

My quest to become thinner and healthier

3/29 Workout: Easy Run 1 April 2011

Filed under: Feel the Burn — lennonzgal @ 10:53

I have a shoe problem.  Now, before my fellow women nod their heads as if to say, “You’re preaching to the choir, sister,” I think I need to quantify said problem.  In my closet are somewhere in the range of 100 pairs of shoes.  Flip-flops in every color imaginable, Chucks as far as the eye can see, Uggs, ballet flats, you name it, they’re in there.  Tuesday, I was looking rather cute in a new pair of navy pinstripe pants with a white t-shirt and a bright blue sweater, but I needed the perfect shoe to go with it.  I surprisingly don’t have too many camel-colored shoes, and I didn’t like the look of the dark brown ones with the outfit.  So, I opened a box of Steve Madden heels that I’ve had for a few years and love – they aren’t exactly camel; I honestly couldn’t tell you what color they are, but they’re gorgeous.  Unfortunately, they also are incredibly uncomfortable.

On Tuesday morning, I threw the shoes on, walked around in the bedroom wearing them for a minute or two, and decided they were good.  Went to work where I ran back and forth to the bathroom a million times (thank you so much, 100 ounces of water), and by midday, I realized exactly why it had been so long since I last wore them.  And then I remembered: about once, maybe twice a year, I put these shoes on.  They’re perfectly fine as a “walk from car to restaurant and then from restaurant to car” sort of shoe, and they’re fine for maybe half a workday, but by the end of the workday, they’re ridiculously uncomfortable and my feet end up throbbing for the remainder of the day.  At that point, I go home, take the shoes off, put them in their box, and forget about them for 6 months to a year, and the cycle repeats.

Perhaps I should put a warning note in the box: “WEAR THESE ONLY WHEN SPENDING THE DAY ON YOUR ASS!!”  More than likely, they’ll go in their box and stay there for another 6 months.  In the meantime, my feet were KILLING me.  I had a blister the size of which I’d never seen before, and even barefoot, walking felt like I was constantly standing on two giant pebbles.  I still attempted my run, but speed work was not in the cards.  I made it a pitiful two miles before hobbling back in the door, feeling rather beaten.  I took a warm bath in hopes of soothing my achy paws, but to no avail.  It wasn’t until it occurred to me the following morning that a large dose of Advil might help before the pain went away.

So, I don’t do easy runs very often.  I keep pretty consistent with rotating hill work and speed work.  To me, tossing in a short easy run probably wasn’t the worst thing that could have happened – maybe the sore feet were sign that I should just take it easy with the training, and so I did.  And in the end, I’m still glad I got my butt out there.

 

3 Responses to “3/29 Workout: Easy Run”

  1. Danielle Says:

    I always bring a pair of back-up flats to work just for that reason! you never know when those ever so adorable heels are going to start to KILL you feet!

  2. lennonzgal Says:

    You know, I used to keep a pair of sneakers at my desk because I had a dear friend who used to go for walks with me around the building almost daily. Unfortunately, she and I have lost touch over the past couple of years, and in my move from building to building, the sneaks must have gotten taken home. I think perhaps this is one of those signs that I should bring them the hell back!!

  3. Dana Says:

    With the nice weather *hopefully* on its way – a walk at lunch is a good break in the middle of the day if you have the time.
    I also own MANY pairs of shoes myself – and have also nearly given up on heels at work. Save them for a nite out – or go barefoot at work 🙂


Leave a Reply

