A Little Less Of Me

My quest to become thinner and healthier

I’m Running, I swear!! 12 April 2011

Filed under: Feel the Burn — lennonzgal @ 10:48

As always, life seems to have gotten in the way of my sitting on my ass in front of the computer.  Mostly, I think its a good thing, but every once in a while I realize that I haven’t logged on here in ages, and then I feel like I have to play catch-up.

I’ve actually done swimmingly as far as long runs are concerned – 8.5 miles two weekends ago, and 9.5 miles this past one.  Both were a bit slow, but at that mileage, I’m just happy with the distance.  What I haven’t done great with is the weekly runs.  There’s been this perfect storm of Will working late and rainy evenings that have caused my weekly runs to all but disappear.  I’ve gotten in one good weeknight run per week for the past couple of weeks, and I honestly think that’s affecting my speed as well.

So, I got up at 4:15 this morning to change that – I intended to do 4 miles, but barely eeked out 3.25, and to be honest … it was 2.5 solid miles, then a 2 minute walk, followed by .75 miles of a sort-of-jog.  Still, I’ll take it.  I think that I can easily chalk that up to a few things – first, YOU try and run two days after nailing 9.5 miles – doesn’t happen as easily as you’d think.  My legs aren’t I-can’t-move-sore, but they’re definitely still healing.  Next, I’ve gotten very used to running in the evenings, after having eaten 3 meals plus snacks, and after having had a day to wake up and sort of limber up.  That’s a vast difference from waking up 30 minutes earlier than usual to trudge in the dark.  My eyes might have been open, but “awake” is not a word I’d have used to describe myself.  Perhaps “in a moving coma” is more appropriate.  Last, yesterday was the first day in a little over a week where I ate like a normal person.  Will’s birthday was two Saturdays ago, and Liam’s birthday was last week, followed by a party this past Saturday.  Needless to say, there’s been a lot of cake and celebrating in my house.  We ate at a restaurant at least 4 times over the past week and a half, which is about 3 months’ worth of restaurant eating in our lives.   I expect that my run on Thursday (should I manage to eek it in) will be a little better, as I plan to eat like a normal human being once again.

So, the runs are happening, just the logging isn’t.  I think life might calm down a hair now that the parties are over, but every time I say that I think life is calming down, I seem to find something else to make myself busy.  Instead, let’s just say I’ll pop back when I can … and hopefully that’ll be sooner than later!

 

2 Responses to “I’m Running, I swear!!”

  1. Joy Manning Says:

    4:15 am? That is dedication. Hats off to you.

  2. lennonzgal Says:

    Thanks! I honestly haven’t decided if its dedication or some weird form of dementia.


Leave a Reply

