A Little Less Of Me

My quest to become thinner and healthier

4/20 Workout: Dirt. And Lots of It. 21 April 2011

Filed under: Feel the Burn — lennonzgal @ 10:59

I was going to do EA Active yesterday, until I mentioned to Liam that we could play in the dirt in the afternoon.  The way his eyes lit up, I knew I wasn’t going to have the energy to do it once Liam was down for a nap.  Instead, we got out our wheelbarrows and started working on moving the giant pile of dirt in my driveway to the two raised garden beds we’ve got set up in the back yard.  Liam had a ball shoveling and moving the wheelbarrow around, he’d follow me back and forth, and actually got really good at it before he got bored.  He finally finished up by letting me do the shoveling, he’d move the wheelbarrow to the back yard, and then while I filled the beds, he’d play with his toys in the yard.  Worked for me.

After he went down for a nap, I continued filling the two 48″x48″x14″ beds – ended up totaling something like 16 cu. yds., according to the packages for the beds.  Let’s just say that it was a damn lot of dirt and I was exhausted after about 3 hours of working with it.  On the plus side, the two beds are filled, I have two more beds to put together and subsequently fill, and then I’ll be ready to start planting!  We’ve got lots of great seeds to try out this year, and I can’t wait to see how everything turns out!  On the upside, working towards getting the beds filled in and set up means I get a little extra exercise in too!

 

Leave a Reply

