A Little Less Of Me

My quest to become thinner and healthier

Workout Catch-Up. Again. 8 July 2011

Filed under: Feel the Burn — lennonzgal @ 11:09

As usual, life has flown by at a remarkable pace.  I think kids do that to you.

Anyway, I made a valiant attempt this week to get up at 4:15am both on Tuesday and Thursday to get in a run.  I learned a couple of things during those attempts:

  • I absolutely HAVE to sleep in my running clothes to get out on a run.  If I’m not in them, I make every excuse imaginable to get back into bed.  If I AM in them, I feel stupid getting out of them when I haven’t used them.  Dumb, perhaps.  Effective, definitely.
  • 4:15 is a wicked, wicked time of the day.
  • I don’t care how much sleep I got, my legs are absolute cement that early in the morning.
  • I’m worthless at work after about noon on such an early morning.  Of course, I’m worthless at work after about 1pm on any other given day, so there’s that.

I did manage to get up both mornings for a run.  On Tuesday,  I got in a 4 mile jaunt, which made me quite proud.  It was simply an easy run – no speed work, no hill work.  Just running around the neighborhood.  I managed to squeak out a time that was JUST BARELY under 14:00/mile, which made me even more pleased.  Yesterday, I just did a little over 2.25 miles and I did some hill work.  Nothing quite as intense as I had been doing prior to the last half-marathon, but enough to get me back into doing said hill work.  Its been well over a month since I pounded my feet up and down those hills, so it felt good and tiring all at the same time.  I eeked out just around 14:00/mile yesterday, which isn’t spectacular, but it wasn’t horrifying either considering how slowly I was probably crawling up those hills.

My goal is to give this 4:15am thing a go for a month – it’s just getting too hot to run in the evenings anymore, and I definitely want to find a way to get good quality training runs in.  I’m thinking this is the way to do it.  I’m going to attempt at least one 4:15am run each week, and just see if I can get accostomed to the time – maybe by August I’ll be used to the early mornings and I’ll manage to get in some really great strides!

 

Leave a Reply

