A Little Less Of Me

My quest to become thinner and healthier

7/14 Workout: Speed Work 14 July 2011

Filed under: Feel the Burn — lennonzgal @ 11:23

Had a great 4.5 mile jaunt last night!  I really meant to work out earlier than Wednesday, but I can’t even begin to tell you how tired I’ve been.  Thankfully, Liam and I slept in a little bit yesterday, so I feel about a million times better.

The heat also seemed to have broken a little bit by last night, which was nice.   I don’t know that my run would have been nearly as good had it been 95+ out.  It was about 83 or so when I started, and there was a storm brewing, so it was even cooler than that by the time I was headed back to the house.

What motivated me the most were these three damn kids in the neighborhood (whose addresses I now know, should they do it again) who thought it would be funny to make animal noises at me as I passed.  I had JUST read an article in Runner’s World about hecklers, and here I was … being heckled.  How annoying.  I made a note of the house they were exiting, and used that irritation to propel myself forward even more.  I will say this though: if they do it again, I’m not continuing on … I’ll be knocking on the door of the house they’re at.  They biked off as I continued running, and one of the dumbass kids was pulling into his driveway further down the neighborhood as I was passing – he was not pleased to notice that I now knew where he lived.  I’m expecting that he’ll keep his big fat mouth shut next time.

The best part of my run?  Liam met me for the last .15 miles, and we ran them together.  He was cracking me up, running ahead of me and saying, “Mommy – you have to run WITH me!”  Its hard to run and laugh at the same time!  Honestly, having him there was an absolute treat.  It may have slowed down my overall time by a few seconds, but … WORTH. IT.

Overall, I did 4.5 miles in 58:50, which seems to have worked itself out to 13:30/mile.  I had averaged 13:00/mile til that last .15, so not bad at all.

 

Leave a Reply

