A Little Less Of Me

My quest to become thinner and healthier

7/21 Workout: Suckadelia 21 July 2011

Filed under: Feel the Burn — lennonzgal @ 11:22
Tags: , ,

Once again, up at 4:15am for a run.  Once again, it was so stinking humid that the sweat started pouring off of me the instant I got outside.  It was only in the 70’s out there, but the air was so thick that my headlamp wasn’t even able to project as far as it normally does.  I made it around 2.5 miles at about a 13:30 pace before I literally could not sweat anymore.

I could feel the sweat dripping down my face, so I tried to use the top of my shirt to wipe it off and ended up actually wetter than I had been with just the drips.  Go figure.  Normally when I run, I know I’ve been sweating because my arms may be dry, but they’re gritty from the salt that the evaporated sweat left behind.  Today, there truly was a layer of soak sitting on top of every inch of my skin.  When that happens, your body can’t push anymore out, and you start to overheat.  I probably could have gone another mile or so in a slower walk/run pattern, but I was getting dizzy at the end of each run interval and thought better of continuing.  I went home  to shower and wave to my neighbor who was on his way to work – if I hadn’t been drunk and flashed him this past weekend, I’m certain that the butt-early AM running would be the thing that made him  really think I’m nuts.  Thankfully, that ship has sailed.

I’m not sure how I’m going to handle this weekend’s long run – I didn’t do last weekend’s because I was some semblance of hung over – I don’t normally get hung over, and I woke up feeling fine, had breakfast, the whole deal … it wasn’t til I started pounding the pavement that I got a little nauseous and dizzy and thought perhaps a half-bottle of vodka the night before a long run was NOT the best idea I’ve ever had.  Actually, I had quite a few bad ideas after having consumed the half-bottle of vodka, so at least it wasn’t the WORST idea I’ve ever had … gotta take the good with the bad, I guess.  So, no run last weekend.

This weekend was scheduled to be a 10-miler.  Next weekend is supposed to be 8.  I was thinking about switching them, but really – what’s the big difference between 8 and 10 miles?  Not much, if you ask me.  Once you’ve pounded out 8, you can limp the next two with little trouble.  I think I’m going to wait until Sunday to do it because its supposed to be cooler that day, so I need to remember to hydrate and not drink on Saturday.  Good luck to me!

 

One Response to “7/21 Workout: Suckadelia”

  1. Dana Says:

    Aggressive start time – impressive. I have been hoping to get back into am runs myself – to me they are like quitting a bad habit – I always ending up “trying again tomorrow”.

    I will wish you luck this weekend working out in the heat if you promise to do the same for me! I am planning to do a 2-hr boot camp Sat am with a man named Sgt Nate. He is a notorious Philly boot camp style trainer – so we will see how long I last!

    Enjoy the weekend whether you get in the long run – or even just a medium one!


Leave a Reply

