A Little Less Of Me

My quest to become thinner and healthier

7/28 Workout: Run 28 July 2011

Filed under: Feel the Burn — lennonzgal @ 11:43

My run schedule has admittedly been really off over the past couple of weeks.  Two weekends ago, I was too hung over to run – while I don’t actually get hung over in normal terms, I apparently can’t run without feeling like I’m going to throw up.  Lesson learned.  Last weekend, it was around 90 degrees out at 8am and not exactly conducive to a 10-miler.  I realize I may have to get used to the fact that its getting hotter and more humid, but even the heat advisory said specifically to not exercise outdoors, and who am I to disobey the weathermen?

I’ve been keeping up with my weekday runs pretty well – both of last week’s runs were in the wee hours of the morning to avoid the nasty heat, but they were definitely shorter than I’d have liked, merely because it was just too damn hot, even around 5am.  This week’s have gone much better, despite the fact that I’ve got a cold and cannot breathe through my nose at all.  I did a run on Tuesday evening and although it was most certainly hot out, it was tolerable because the humidity had been less than in the past week.  I managed 4 miles at just under 13;45/mile, which wasn’t too shabby.  Today, I did another early-morning run because Will has class tonight.  It was a shorter, 3 mile run, but I eeked under 13:45/mile again, which was great.  I’d been moving slower in the mornings, so it was nice to see that I’m at least somewhat getting used to it.

Will finishes grad school next week for good!  What that means to me as far as exercise goes is that the early morning runs are less a necessity now and more a matter of deciding whether I want to run in the heat or not.  I’ll probably still do a few morning runs here and there when the temperatures are looking nasty, but I always prefer running after being actually awake, and I definitely prefer running without a headlamp.

All in all, this morning’s run was decent.  I’m glad I was able to get out there and pound out a few miles – I really considered getting back into bed this morning.  I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again though: sleeping in my running clothes really helps.  If I wake up and I’m already dressed for the run, I’ll feel stupid getting out of those clothes when I haven’t used them yet.  It may be a silly motivator, but if that’s what I need to get my butt out of bed, then so be it!

 

Leave a Reply

