A Little Less Of Me

My quest to become thinner and healthier

7/30 Workout: Long Run 30 July 2011

Filed under: Feel the Burn — lennonzgal @ 13:35
Tags: , , ,

I honestly don’t think it was in the cards for me to complete 10 miles today, but I did it!  I spent a good portion of the run trying to psych myself out – around 3.3 miles, I was rethinking the whole half-marathon strategy: “I don’t REALLY need to run that race, do I?  I mean, if I just quit at 6 miles today, I can run 10Ks for a while and just get back into it when I’m good and ready…”  Around 4.5 miles, I was just thinking I should throw in the towel: “Really.  Its been 2 weeks since I ran any sort of valuable distance.  4.5 is more than enough of a start to get back into it.”  Thankfully at 4.5 miles, I still had about 1.5 miles to even get back to my door, so I just kept moving forward.  Around 8.5 miles, I was a short distance from home and could have gotten there in a brisk walk through a couple of backyards.  At that point, there was a baseball game starting in the field behind my neighborhood, and a little boy was beginning to sing the National Anthem.  As cliche as it sounded, that struck me.  I stopped listening to my own iPod and I kept going.  I kept going, thinking of every single person I know in the military.  I kept going thinking of how they had to run from bombs, bullets, etc.  I kept going thinking they probably ran 10 miles in boots, full gear, and backpacks.  And somehow, I finished those 10 miles.  Albeit barely 🙂

In the end, I finished in 2:21:30-ish.  My watch died literally 2 minutes after I got back, so I can’t double-check my time at the moment.  That’s an average of 14:09/mile.  Not too shabby for someone who hasn’t run anywhere near that distance in over 2 weeks.  I actually started running a new pattern – 3 minutes run, 1 minute walk, and I really think its making me faster, as backwards as that seems.  I think that I can move faster because really, what’s three minutes in the grand scheme?  Nothing.  So, I power on, and pound out a little more distance.  By the end, I was doing more 2 minutes run, 1 minute walk, but still … to come in lower than my last race pace is decent.  I’m hoping that as each week passes,  I can keep up the 3:1 ratio a little farther and eek out a PR for the race.  You know, assuming I don’t end up with bronchitis again … thankfully, I think this one was just a cold, and I think its starting to subside.  I should be able to breathe through my nose again for the next run!

 

Leave a Reply

