A Little Less Of Me

My quest to become thinner and healthier

My FiveFingers – On My Feet 14 August 2011

Filed under: Feel the Burn — lennonzgal @ 15:53

Around this time last year, we were at a wedding shower for my cousin Philip and his lovely bride-to-be, Lisa.  Philip has always been an impressive kid – on the crew team for Yale, met his now-wife on a local adult swim team (I believe), and is all-around the kind of athletic person I’d love to be.  I don’t think I’ve ever seen the kid looking anything but amazingly muscular.  He’s also been a sort of attention-getter.  I remember being younger, and seeing him in these pale yellow plaid shorts in the summertime.  If I recall, he’d gotten them from a consignment shop and wore them CONSTANTLY that summer.  We all made fun, but secretly, I loved the fact that he was being his own person and rocking those shorts.  As I got older, I started doing the same thing – my taste is a little odd, to say the least.  I often get teased by family and friends on my clothing choices (like the hot pink UGGs I selected last year to wear with an otherwise all-black outfit), but I know that I look good, and I like the little bit of attention it gets me.  Plus, I like being my own person and not blending in.

Anyway, back to the shower.  Philip comes in wearing these weird-ass sneakers.  Remember toe-socks?  Yeah, think about those, but with soles.  I found out that they’re called FiveFingers, and I have to say that they were pretty fun looking.  I considered getting a pair, but wasn’t sure if I’d like them or not.  Then I started reading all about bare foot running and the benefits that it can have for a person … I was becoming more and more convinced that I might like to try it at some point, maybe after my two half-marathons this year.  And so, I started checking out the FiveFingers website, reading about the shoes, the benefits, and the wearers.  Last week, I ran out and got myself a pair, and cracked up when I saw the instructions in the box.  You’ve got to love a pair of shoes that comes with instructions: don’t wear them for long periods right away; start out by running doing only 10% of your normal distance, and increase SLOWLY; don’t put them on like a regular shoe; the list went on and on.

I wore them all day on Friday and LOVED them, and then I saw this article on CNN talking about breaking them in (the shoes in the image are the ones I got, as it happens).  Apparently, they’re quite the hit with gym junkies as well, so don’t be surprised if you see them on your next trip there.  They’re fun, they’re attention-grabbing, and they’re beneficial – if you use them correctly.  I’m already planning on getting a cuter pair for our trip to Disney World next year, and I can’t wait to give them a try running, but I think I’ll wait til after the half – I’m not limping across the finish line this time!

 

2 Responses to “My FiveFingers – On My Feet”

  1. I’ve even seen people wearing them at the zoo!

    Have you read Born to Run? I highly recommend it. You’ll get an even better appreciation for barefoot running after reading it.

  2. lennonzgal Says:

    Funny enough, I was planning a post on books for this week. “Born to Run” has been sitting on my bookshelf for months, and something inspired me to pick it up this weekend and start reading it. I’m only 4 chapters in and its already pretty inspiring …


Leave a Reply

