A Little Less Of Me

My quest to become thinner and healthier

10/12 Workout: C25K W3R1 13 October 2011

Filed under: Feel the Burn — lennonzgal @ 11:53
Tags: ,

This time next year, my brother will be a married man, and he’ll be married to the sweetest girl on the planet!  Why does that relate to my workout?  Let me explain … Kyle and his lovely fiancee Breinn got engaged this past June-ish.  Their wedding is next October, and I have the honor of being a bridesmaid in the wedding.  Breinn is so ultra-organized that she’s already to the point where she had some dress ideas and she wanted the girls to head to a dress shop to get a feel for what we like – that was Tuesday night, my normal running night.

We had a BALL  trying on dresses, though I will say this : I had never shopped anywhere except David’s Bridal for a bridesmaid’s dress.  David’s is just an okay dress shop – they have a lot of styles, but they aren’t the nicer ones that the boutiques carry.  The nice thing about David’s is that you can walk in, try a dress on, and walk out with it.  Not so in a boutique.  Instead, a boutique (at least the one we used, and from what I hear … this is the case with most of them) carries a large selection of styles of dress, but they only have one of them in stock for you to try on, and its generally a size 10.  Breinn’s sisters are stunning women – they’re each a different shape and size, but each one of them is stunningly thin, and you wouldn’t ever know that two of them had kids.  Trying on dresses with them was a little nerve-wracking at first – not a one of the dresses fit me, so I’d come out from the dressing room having huffed and puffed my way into the dress, but with the zipper wide open.  The girls were so sweet – not one of them commented on the fact that I’d probably need a dress 10 sizes bigger, or the fact that they fit into every single one of them.  They’re honestly great girls, and in the end, I got comfortable enough to try on everything Breinn wanted me to try on, and I totally fell in love with the two finalist dresses – even with the zipper open, you could tell that either one would look great on each one of us!  I’m not going to share them here because I have a lot of family that visits this page, and I don’t want to spoil the surprise!

All of that said, I didn’t get home that night until about 9:30, which is way too late to run.  Instead, I put off the run until last night, and it was a doozy.  I managed to hop out in between rainstorms, which was nice.  This run was two repetitions of the following: 1:30 run, 1:30 walk, 3:00 run, 3:00 walk.  I’d gotten so used to the 1:30 runs that I had totally forgotten there would be longer ones eventually!  That first 3:00 one almost killed me!  Thankfully, I just imagined myself in that bridesmaid dress and muscled through it.  The second 3:00 run was much easier than the first – I think I just needed to get used to running longer than before.  And my calf didn’t bother me once!  I think I’m finally getting used to the shoes!

I have a 5k this weekend – in honor of a little girl that died of brain cancer last month.  She was not quite 6 years old.  Initially, we were to get her better.  Now, we’re running in her memory.  It’ll be the last run of this week, and an emotional one at that.  I need to get the most out of the first two runs, because I think the third one is going to be damn hard.  Damn hard.  If you happen to be a runner or a walker, please sign up if you can – the family could use every ounce of support that they can get.

Hm.  This post was kind of all over the place … sorry about that!  Maybe next time I can stick to a single topic…

 

Leave a Reply

