A Little Less Of Me

My quest to become thinner and healthier

Boutique Shopping 13 October 2011

Filed under: Musings — lennonzgal @ 17:39

It was early in the morning when I wrote that last post, and I’m currently wondering what I was smoking … it was all over the place, but I’m not one for going back and editing out, so I figured I’d clarify in another post.

I by no means wanted to come off as unhappy that I went gown shopping with my sister-in-law-to-be.  She’s an amazing woman, and I’m sooooo glad to be getting the absolute best sister in law in the WORLD.  I had a ball on Tuesday night, and it was in no small part thanks to Breinn and her fabulously gorgeous sisters.

My beef was with the boutique itself, and bridal boutiques like that in general.  There were maybe 2 weeks of my life where I would have been small enough to fit in any of those dresses.  I realize that there’s still a large population of the world that is that tiny, but what I’m asking here is that boutiques consider the trends going on in the world – I realize its not GOOD that so many people are heavy/fat/chubby/obese/overweight/etc, but its a fact, and having dresses that are too small to fit most normal women isn’t a way to have a lot of happy customers. 

Seriously, would it be that hard to have the dress in, say, a size 10, and then the same dress (maybe in another color to show off more of the fabrics) in a size 18 or 20?  Look at it this way – its common knowledge that a normally-sized 10 would require a 12 or even a 14 in a bridal gown because the morons who put those dresses together don’t comply with the rest of the world.  Perhaps its the bridal industry that’s in the right here; vanity sizing has caused smaller sizes to get bigger and bigger and bigger over the years.  Let’s be honest – if I’ve got the choice between wearing a pair of 12’s in Levis and a pair of 14’s in Lee, I’m probably buying the Levi’s. 

I found this quote on Wikipedia:

Size irregularities have existed for many years. In Sears’s 1937 catalog, a woman with a 32 inches (81 cm)-bust would have worn a size 14 dress. In 1967, the same woman would have worn an 8. In 2011, she would wear a zero.

If that’s the case, then perhaps the bridal industry is just trying to stick to their guns.  Perhaps they’re  trying  to stress how “off” sizing is in ready-made clothing.  And I get it, I really do.  I understand that when I buy those Levi’s 12’s, its not making me a 12.  Its making Levi’s a little generous in their fabric usage.  That said, the size 10 gowns in the bridal store are going to fit a woman maybe in a 6 or 8 – definitely not me and my size 14 bootie. 

All I’m saying is that it would be nice to offer a small size and a big size.  I understand you can’t accommodate everyone, but if I’m a 14 and I fit into the 10 dress well enough to see how it would look on me (the zipper wouldn’t close, but the dress sat sort of where it should), then having a size 16 or even 18 in the store would offer some of us larger chicks a chance to see exactly how the dress fits. 

Not to mention, how am I supposed to know how to size myself for the dress?  They say to go up 1-2 dress sizes to get an appropriate fit.  So, if I order an 18 to be safe, and it turns out that I’m really a 12/14 and I would have fit in the 16 dress, now I have to pay a ridiculous amount of money to have it taken in.  It would be nice to try on two dresses and say, “Ok, the 10 didn’t zip at all, and the 18 was just a little big.  I’m probably safe in the 16,” or “The 10 zipped a little bit and the 18 was enormous on me – probably I can manage the 14.”  Instead, I’ll be left to guess what my size is with the help of a boutique lady who is probably hoping I buy a size too big so that I have to pay them to take it in.  Personally, I find shopping in stores like that to be stressful and mortifying.  Thankfully,  I was with a group of girls that really made me feel so comfortable and so welcome, no matter what size I was.  I couldn’t ask for a better group of bridesmaids to hang out with!

Ok, I’m done with my soapbox now.  I honestly can’t wait to find out which dress Breinn picked, and I can’t wait to get it and twirl around in it, because they were both gorgeous!  Its just FINDING the dress that’s nerve-wracking … nothing like standing around with your skivvies showing because the shop didn’t feel like accommodating a multitude of curves!

 

Leave a Reply

